It’s almost like I’m Laura Ingalls

So this whole going green thing has really gotten me.  I’ve done all I can to green our household products, I made a cake from scratch when my daughter broke her arm (she wanted a PINK cake–that’s a LOT of red food coloring), and today I made my own laundry detergent using this recipe which was recommended by this lovely lady.

Yeah.  I did.  And you know what?  I used it to wash 2 loads of laundry which came out totally clean and smelling fresh!!!!  I loved it.  I did hate grating that damn bar of soap though–it took a good 45 minutes to do, but I took a lot of breaks, so it actually took me longer.

So now my husband wants to know when we’ll be moving to Lancaster so we can live in harmony with the Amish.  NEVER!!!!  If you ever see me wearing ankle length skirts and my hair in a bun with a bonnet, just shoot me.  Please.  Or better yet, make me live on Long Island again for a reality check.

5 Responses to “It’s almost like I’m Laura Ingalls”

  1. Catherine Says:

    wow – color me all sorts of impressed. Did that laundry dry au natural? Good for you! And I’m sure you’ll look fantastic in your ankle length skirt & bun. 🙂 I plan to wear hot pink footless tights under mine!

  2. catebrook Says:

    HA! Catherine, I never thought about what they wore underneath. Pink tights is a great idea! How about some tie dye underwear? And I’m sure their toes are sparkly 😉

  3. Kat Says:

    good for you for getting your “prairie girl” on….

  4. Nadine Says:

    Impressive – your own laundry detergent. Good for you.

  5. Mommy’s Time Out » This is not a blog Says:

    […] reading comments on other people’s blogs, I’ll follow links for women that share my name. It doesn’t have to be exact, just […]

Leave a Reply

