Earth Day

Though today is officially Earth Day, my town has decided to celebrate it this coming Saturday. A few months ago, I can’t remember exactly when, I think it was last summer, I started getting really irritated that so many of the chemicals found in all of our household products, clothing, and food were so dangerous. Why are they even there?

We started buying organic food (we do not exclusively buy organic) and researched non-toxic household cleaners. Luckily there is a lot of resources out there that have already done all the work so finding out what I could do to have a healthier household was pretty easy.

None of the changes my family and I have made have interfered with our lifestyle. The only thing that I do find still a bit odd is that now I use cloth napkins at dinnertime and fleece washable cloths in place of paper towels. We barely use paper towels now. I think I find it odd because I’ve never done it before. However, we LOVE the cloth napkins. I bought some on ebay, and then I found a wonderful “shop” on etsy where I have bought all my children’s cloth napkins from. She uses great child friendly prints and is very reasonably priced.

That’s it. That’s my little speech on Earth Day. We certainly don’t do everything right around this house, but we’ve been pretty good with some things. Stay well and live green 🙂These are just some of my “green” products. The napkins on the left (orange/green/blue colored) are from littlesprouts.etsy.com, and so are the red and orange crotched wipes in the bottom center of the photo.

5 Responses to “Earth Day”

  1. Earth Day » This is not a blog Says:

    […] Inspired by my new friend (Hi!), […]

  2. Kelsey Says:

    Great stuff! I love that shop!!

  3. Kat Says:

    where did you get the fleece dish towels/”paper” towels?

  4. catebrook Says:

    The fleece dish towels are from Trader Joe’s 🙂

  5. Kat Says:

    that’s what I thought… I wasn’t sure. Design mom blogged about them a while ago but you can *actually* SEE the softness of the ones in your picture… 😉

Leave a Reply

