Skip 34 and go straight to 35….

35 has got to be a better year!

The day I turned 34 (3 months ago), I started to fall apart at the seams. I developed acute colitis thanks to a stupid antibiotic. Because of that, I had to take another antibiotic to get rid of that, and then go in for a colonoscopy (which actually wasn’t bad at all. It was MUCH WORSE in my imagination) to make sure I didn’t have some tumor growing. Thankfully, I do not, so we can blame the stupid antibiotic for the colitis. The meds they gave me for the colonoscopy were wonderful. As soon as my husband drove me home, I slept for 2 and 1/2 hours!!!! I may schedule one every few months, just for the nap time.

Now I have a double ear infection, going on day 10. My left ear has been clogged that long with fluid. The antibiotic I have been taking hasn’t touched it, though my right ear does feel better, and my conjunctivitis in my left eye cleared up. Yeah, I had that too. The doc won’t put me on a stronger antibiotic because we are both afraid of getting colitis again. SOOOOOOOOO, he said that if the fluid doesn’t drain in about 2 weeks, an ENT doctor has to stick a needle in my ear to drain it!!!!!

What fun!! Really. Who wants to be me?

My husband calls me Petri Dish. No one at work wants to sit near me (one even asked me not to attend a meeting because of the close quarters). I went anyway just to piss her off.

Fortunately, I am the only sick one in the house.

Hopefully I have already hit rock bottom for this year and things will begin to improve. After all, they say you get better with age.

3 Responses to “Skip 34 and go straight to 35….”

  1. eLí Says:

    Jeeeez, Cate! if i didn’t have this paper that’s due tomorrow, I’d run out to CVS right now and get you a get well card!

  2. capello Says:

    dude. seriously. don’t go and get mastoiditis with those ears.

    and there’s a way to get the nasty black wax out of your ears which may help in draining your infected fluid BUT i think your ears cannot be infected in order to do it.

  3. Cate Says:

    Mastoiditis???? Shit!!! I do have another doctor appt today at 5pm. Hoping for the cure.

Leave a Reply

