It’s already good. Now if I can just keep it that way.

They were in the family room watching a Laurie Berkner DVD. I made my move. As quietly as I could, I snuck upstairs, turned on the shower and held my breath. They were still watching the dvd. Neither of them noticed I wasn’t within 2 feet of them. HA! I got in the shower and washed my hair first. If I could just get through washing my hair without any interruptions, I consider it a good shower. Then I conditioned my hair, washed all other body parts, and then because no one was coming in demanding I sing The Wheels on the Bus while I was showering, I got brave. I Shaved My Legs. This is an awesome shower day. I shaved one leg, then the other, and still I was alone. Unbelievably, I got through my entire shower without a small child bothering me!!!! AAahhh….bliss.
And then because I didn’t want my good fortune to end, we went shopping for a dress that I can wear to the Christening this weekend. What the hell was I thinking?! If I had thought about it, even for 1 minute, I would have realized that would have killed my good mood. Oh well, I’m just not that bright sometimes. Seriously. Shopping? For a dress? I forgot that I’m not talking to my body right now. Sigh, but at least I painted my toenails before we went, and they look good!
See? Silver lining.
***I scored 2 T-shirts (I live in T-shirts) and a pair of capris at Old Navy. Oh, how I love Old Navy. I have way too many outfits from that store. I spied an amazing pull over “for my husband” but in reality he’d never get to wear it. I’ll always come up with an excuse to put it on. Now I’ll have to go back and get it.
I’ll just have to keep this good day going.

6 Responses to “It’s already good. Now if I can just keep it that way.”

  1. Nadine Says:

    That’s too funny. I remember those days…ah the treasure of a shower taken without interruptions.

  2. Bohemian Mom Says:

    ….dying laughing.
    Oh, I can so relate to those stolen shower moments.
    My daughter’s older now, so it’s great. I even get to soak in long aromatherapy baths.

  3. eLí Says:

    Cate this was hilarious! Not being a mother myself, I forget about the stuff like that. It just never occurred to me why you wouldn’t be able to take a “normal” shower. Love it. God bless!

  4. Rachel Says:

    I completely empathize! Any time I can do anything in the bathroom without an audience of kiddos is a great day. Shopping, though? That is amazingly brave. Lately I don’t even dare it. We always end up sitting in the car in time out.

  5. Britt-Arnhild Says:

    I love your funny writing style.
    These will be great memories for your kids to read when they grow up 😉

  6. Tori Says:

    As someone who shaves their legs daily and am getting the baby bug…I have a lot of compromising to think about 🙂

Leave a Reply

