I’m not in Kansas anymore…

I spent the last 2 days in Italy. No, not really, but I had to pinch myself a few times to remind myself of where I was. I drove to NY by myself for my grandfather’s wake and funeral (the Italian priest had a prior engagement, so we had to have the Irish priest!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!)
Everyone’s name is either Franco, Salvatore, Josephine, Anthony, Maria, or Joseph. That’s about it. Everyone speaks Italian. My parents house gets 24 hours of italian TV pumped in by satellite. Italian radio blasts the latest hits. Rarely will they listen to American music. I had to practically beg my mother to let me listen to the American news. She had to tell me that they were watching the news (um, someone ran over the Italian president’s wife????) **Sigh**
My husband jokes that we need our passports to visit my family in NY.
The 2 days were a blur of aunts and uncles and cousins that I hadn’t seen in forever. My “little” cousin (he’s 27) was here from Italy! He’s been going to school in NY, and I had no idea. Or I forgot. I should stay in touch with my relatives more. I really wish I had gotten some of their addresses, or at least their email addresses, which I am more likely to use. Maybe I will when I go back. With my passport 😉

3 Responses to “I’m not in Kansas anymore…”

  1. Britt-Arnhild Says:

    So your family is from Italy? ;.)

    I’m goinf to Italy tomorrrow…..for two weeks.

  2. eLí Says:

    and yet i missed you … again… he’s so right about the passport thing ya know. welcome back to America my love!

  3. cheeky Says:

    I sure hope you are fluent in Italian or I’m going to be terribly dissapointed!

Leave a Reply

