My Challenging Child

Lately I just don’t know what to do with this child. Challenging is putting it mildly. Never mind that she has given up sleeping. Never mind that she throws classic tantrums–the kind written about in child care books and magazines. But holy smokes!! She is never still!! I can’t take my eyes off of her! She climbs every surface she can, she has to have what she wants RIGHT NOW! She has to open every drawer, closet, cabinet, you name it. She pooped in the bath tub!!! Now I have to give her showers. She can’t be unsupervised for a second when she’s playing with Play Doh because she eats it. She drinks water color water. She eats anything off the floor. She will write all over her face with magic marker, and all over her legs with pen in the 2 minutes it takes me to unload the dishwasher. I can’t do laundry with her around anymore because she tries to drink the fabric softener!!!! She tries jumping off the couch and refuses to hold my hand in parking lots. One day someone is going to think that I’m stealing her. HA! My husband and I joke that no one would kidnap her. EVER. They wouldn’t even make it to the corner with her without turning back around and leaving her behind, realizing their grave mistake!

OH LORD! Seriously, some days I don’t think I can take her.
But, she is so smart. She fully understands 2 languages. She is FEARLESS. She’s not shy. She’s a super happy baby. She idolizes her big brother. She always wants to try new things. Her favorite saying is “I did it” (meaning, I want to do it). She has no idea that she’s actually younger than her brother, and most of the other kids, because she easily keeps up with them. She is so funny! She sticks her tummy out so far sometimes, that my husband calls her The Round Mound. She loves to eat and eat and eat. She sings and dances all the time. She keeps me on my toes, and every day I expect something new from her. She’s never boring.
Whoever marries her one day better be adventurous.

6 Responses to “My Challenging Child”

  1. Rachel Says:

    I thought for a moment you were talking about my youngest! Boy do I know how you feel. Isn’t it a good thing kids are so darn cute.

  2. eLí Says:

    Oh Psshhhht!! And like you were any better???

  3. Tori Says:

    Geez Cate- how do you do it?
    And this post is exactly the reason why I am so not ready to be a Mom….what a cutie pie 🙂

  4. jennifer Says:

    Hi Cate! Hey, we’re commenting at the same time. Very cool.
    Can I just say, that picture is priceless, tu-tu and all. My second son was the same holy terror. I remember once when I lost sight of him for only a moment, we found him on the roof! Hang in there is all I can say! And all you can do…

  5. Britt-Arnhild Says:

    Wonderfully written.
    This girl is going to be The President of US on day 🙂

  6. cheeky Says:

    Who that little princess? The one with the sweet, pouty face wearing a tu-tu?
    Oh my goodness you have patience. Here’s hoping it’s a phase and one that’s over soon, the tough part that is, not the cute stuff. At least when she’s grown up you will have heaps of stories to share with her. Take pictures, video, and record it all, the naughty bits too! HA! I’m sure her future husband will want to know everthing about little princess. 🙂

Leave a comment