Swimmingly

On Monday my 3 year old began swim class. It’s for 5 days in a row, then 6 more classes in July. Including him, there are 5 children all ages 3 and 4 in his class. He is the tiniest one, and to me the cutest (of course), but not due to his looks, but due to his technique. No matter what his instructor tells the kids to do, when it’s his turn, it always comes out the same: doggie paddle swim. EVERY.SINGLE.TIME. It’s too funny.
“put your arms over your head, like a rocket and kick kick kick to me”: doggie paddle

“put your arms out to the side, head in the water and kick kick kick to me”: doggie paddle

“we’re going to float on our backs and lay in the water”: doggie paddle

you get the picture.

I’m the only mother to stand right by the pool while the other mothers sit on the lounge chairs chatting. Why? because my 3 year old is still insecure and he wants me around. AND because he is so small, he has floated away twice while the instructor has been with another child, and I have grabbed him both times!!! His instructor has thanked me more than once these last few days for hanging by the pool to keep an extra eye out. I’m good like that.

Do I miss talking to the other mothers? NO. I don’t know any of them, except for one. Her son (who is a great boy) was in my son’s swim class last year. She was too good to talk to me last year, and she’s still too good to talk to me this year. I like to call her LL Bean, because I swear she only wears their clothes. She’s also “older” than me. Oh, is that a stab? I guess it is, hee hee.

Anyway, by the end of this summer I am quite certain that my son will become an expert doggie paddler.

7 Responses to “Swimmingly”

  1. Jennifer Says:

    LLBean, that’s funny. The scene you described at the pool reminds me of junior high. You’re probably better off hanging around the water anyway.

  2. Cate Says:

    Thanks Jennifer! I do feel better off by the pool 🙂

  3. cheeky Says:

    Are we talking about children’s swim classes, or social hour at the local country club?
    I’d rather be in the pool but not because I’m smothering but because it’s more fun. Oh well!
    LL Bean, you are too funny. I’m older than you sister so watch it! HA!

  4. Britt-Arnhild Says:

    I’m sure he is the cutest because of his looks as well 🙂

  5. Tori Says:

    If the doggie battle works-why fix it? 🙂
    I fondly remember swim lessons when I was young one. Good for you for staying by the poolside.
    Sounds like you got quite a shark on your hands 🙂

  6. jennifer Says:

    LL Bean is so OUT!!
    Stick by the pool, the kids are much better company anyway.

  7. tica Says:

    Good idea about swimming lessons! Aren’t they cute in the water, their little bodies and their emotions on the surface!

Leave a Reply

