I’m putting this under the Lent category

The other day I was at the super market with the kids loading up on groceries, and when I was checking out, a man (total stranger) tapped me on the shoulder and handed me a $6 store coupon saying that he wasn’t going to use it. How awesome was that?! What a nice thing to do! I thanked him for it, of course, and I’m sure he made the rest of my day a little better. You see? Good people are still out there 🙂

5 Responses to “I’m putting this under the Lent category”

  1. emily Says:

    ok, in contrast, i was at target on saturday buying diapers. 39 weeks pregnant and carrying too much stuff, i shuffled toward the checkout. i felt a lightening of the load, and all of a sudden, 44 size 6 huggies natural fit diapers were all over the floor of target. i hemmed and hawed, knelt down, tried to see my way around my huge pregnant gut, and slowly collected all of the poopy catchers and stuffed them back into the bag. do you think anyone came to help out? do you think anyone even gave me a look of, “oh, you poor thing”? no. actually, i had a young woman give me a look of disgust as she had to walk around my pile, and an older man made a guffaw sound as he stared at me from his line at the checkout. NO HUMANITY LEFT AT TARGET!!! i’m glad cate had a better experience! mLe

  2. Elisa Says:

    Ok, so i may not be pregnant, or married…or have a boyfriend for that matter, BUT – i was pleasantly surprised when i was leaving the deli with my coffee this morning and some guy actually held the door open for me. Now how bout that?
    PS – for the record… i so totally woulda helped you out with the “poopy catchers” in target.

  3. Cate Says:

    Hi Emily,
    I think I peed my pants reading your comment. I’m gonna throw a bucket of holy water in Target the next time I go there.

  4. Britt-Arnhild Says:

    I love to hear “pay it forward” stories” 🙂

  5. tongue in cheek Says:

    Thanks for reminding us that the hand of kindness is there for those who want to see it. Thank you for sharing your story.

Leave a Reply

