There is such a thing as Pre-First Day of School…

Yesterday was the very first pre-first day of school ever in this household! It was only for 1 hour, and parents had to stay. It was a day to meet his teachers, and some children in his class.
I was a nervous wreak. My son is only 2 1/2, but he’s now in nursery school every Monday. What an enormous step! I know I sound just like every other mother, but I’ve been nervous about this day. I mean, he’s just a baby. I’ve been anxiously thinking these last few weeks that maybe I made a mistake to enroll him, but then the first day quickly arrived.
Yesterday was a perfect bright, warm, sunny day. He proudly wore his new Curious George knapsack, and his new sneakers, and posed for the traditional first day of school pictures in front of our house. This is exactly when I found out that the batteries to my camera DIED! CRAP! I had to borrow my SIL’s camera (her son is in my son’s class).
When we got to the school he and my nephew immediately threw themselves on the floor to play with all the trucks and cars, while 2 little dainty girls walked over to a table, sat down, and began playing with the play-doh. It was so weird, I thought I was watching an episode of Leave it to Beaver. Anyway, my 2 yr old LOVED the school! He loved the toys and the water table, and the snack the teachers gave him (apple juice and crackers). I’m so relieved.
It was a happy little room and I’m sure he’s going to love it.
When it was time to go he declared, “That was so much fun!” My anxiety melted away.
Let’s see how he does next week, on the real first day of school. I will make sure the batteries are charged and that I have emergency back-ups, you know, just in case.

3 Responses to “There is such a thing as Pre-First Day of School…”

  1. jen Says:

    maybe the pre sets the stage for the real. sounds like a lovely day for you both.

  2. Anonymous Says:

    How sweet.

    Full time school starts at age 3 in France. My kids adored “maternelle”.

  3. Anonymous Says:

    Did I just double post? Am I a git or what? I thought that Blogger Beta ate my first comment. Now I’m on my third. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

